Team USA did it again and won the World Cup by defeating current European Champions the Netherlands.

After a strong first half, the Dutch managed to keep it 0-0 and in the second half, by a foul from Stefanie van der Gragt, a penalty was given to Team USA and Megan Rapinoe scored the first goal in the 61st minute.

The second goal came only 8 minutes later by Rose Lavelle, and that sealed the game.
Team USA defended its title and rains supreme!
This win means that Team USA now has been the World Cup Champions for a 4th time, more than any other team.

The Netherlands was the underdog from the start, and even though the referee made some dubious calls in favor of Team USA, the Dutch fought like lions but just couldn’t get past the strong US team.

It is expected that President Trump will invite the players to the White House, and even though Rapinoe wants to rather divide the country and reject it, it is hoped that most of the other players will accept the invitation and take the motto of #OneNationOneTeam seriously.

Author Profile

Jade Ten Hoven
Jade Ten HovenWriter
Dutch-Spanish writer for The Liberal Voice.
Politics don't interest me, that's why I report on tech, games, and sports.
Singing coach and all-around goofball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.